Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

9/25/2017 » 10/1/2017
Vote for Winners in the Teach German Day Student Video Contest

Schwarz-Rot-Gold Day

10/2/2017 » 10/8/2017
National German Week

10/2/2017 » 12/15/2017
NGE Level 2, 3, 4 Registration

Member Accolades

National German Exam Committee Members

The AATG National German Exam is created by a committee comprised primarily of high school teachers. College faculty also serve on the committee. The committee members select resource material and carefully design exam items appropriate for each level. If you are interested in serving on the committee, contact us.

Hal Boland teaches German and co-chairs curriculum development for all levels of German at Heritage High School in Leesburg, Virginia. He is also an instructor at the Washington Deutsche Samstagsschule.

Teresa Breitenthaler teaches German at Loudoun Valley High School in Purcellville, Virginia.

Joan Campbell teaches German at Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School in Sudbury, Massachusetts.

Cynthia Chalupa is co-chair of the National German Exam committee. She is Associate Professor and Director of the Basic German Language Program at West Virginia University in Morgantown.

Peter Chase teaches German at The Pennington School in Pennington, New Jersey.

Keith Cothrun is Executive Director of the AATG. He taught German for 24 years in a public high school in New Mexico.

Katrina Griffin teaches German at North County High School in Glen Burnie, Maryland.

Beth Gulewich teaches German at Needham B. Broughton High School in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Cynthia Kelly teaches German and serves as World Languages Department Chair at Massaponox High School in Fredericksburg, Virginia.

Deborah McGee Mifflin is the German Language Program Director and Graduate Teaching Assistant Supervisor in the Department of German and Romance Languages and Literatures of Johns Hopkins University. 

Shirley Santora teaches German at the University of Maryland Baltimore County and Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, Maryland. She retired from Anne Arundel County Public Schools in 2007 after teaching there for more than 35 years.

Beth Smith has over 40 years of experience teaching German in public high schools. She retired from Plano Senior High School in Plano, Texas in 2012.

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp is co-chair of the National German Exam committee. She is Associate Professor of German in the Department of Linguistics and Senior Advisor for the Office of Global Engagement at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City.

Ingrid Zeller is Associate Professor of German in the German Department at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois.

Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News

Advocacy Hub