Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

Seeking Nominations for 2017 AATG Election

Quadrille Stipend applications due

Proposals due for 2018 Northeast Conference

Member Accolades

Honorary Members and Fellows

Honorary Members are distinguished Germanists or specialists in second language acquisition with a focus on Deutsch als Fremdsprache. They are recognized scholars of international stature who have contributed to the advancement of Germanic studies in the fields of literary studies, linguistics, second language acquisition, or pedagogy, or distinguished K-12 educators with significant regional and/or national impact.

Honorary Fellows are distinguished men and women of letters. Distinguished men and women of letters is to be interpreted in a broad sense. They may be distinguished scholars or professionals in German studies fields outside language and literature; or they may be creative writers or essayists.

Nominations for Honorary Members and Fellows: Active AATG members may nominate persons to the committee chair. This may be done independently or through an AATG chapter.

Nominations need to be supported by ten or more members. Nominations must include a curriculum vitae and other biographical information (including the place and date of birth of the nominee, his/her educational background, a record of his or her professional career, a list of honors, prizes, and memberships, and a list of publications and dates). The AATG does not elect individuals to honorary membership posthumously. Nominations are due by September 1, 2017.

Honorary Members

Sigrid Bauschinger; Elizabeth Bernhardt; Heidi Byrnes; Ray Clifford; Peter Demetz; Wolfgang Fruehwald; Dan Hamilton; Jost Hermand; Peter Uwe Hohendahl; Ruth Klüger; Claire J. Kramsch; Paul M. Lützeler; Wolfgang Mieder; Katharina Mommsen; Kurt Mueller-Vollmer; Karl F. Otto, Jr.; Irmengard Rauch; LaVern J. Rippley; Jeffrey L. Sammons; Renate Schulz; Guy Stern; Janet K. Swaffar; Lynne Tatlock; Frank Trommler; Erwin Tschirner; Wilhelm Vosskamp; Gerhard H. Weiss; Helene Zimmer-Loew; Theodore Ziolkowski.

Honorary Fellows

Peter Bichsel; Barbara Frischmuth; Karin Gündisch; Walter Hinck; Konrad H. Jarausch; Juergen Kocka; Michael Krüger; John le Carré; Wolf Lepenies; Emine Sevgi Özdamar; Jörg Rüsen; Peter Schneider; Zafer Şenocak; Hans-Michael Speier; Uwe Timm; Ulla Unseld-Berkewicz; Beatrice von Matt; Werner Weidenfeld; Harald Weinrich; Erika Weinzierl; Gabriele Wohmann.

Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub